The LMC Speed Championship is supported by interconnect/it
Random header image... Refresh for more!

New Speed Classes for 2010

After a great deal of work consulting all major Clubs & Championships, we have finally been given the go ahead by the MSA to implement the “Northern Speed Classes” so we have now finalised the full class structure & clarifications that will be used by the majority of speed events in the Northwest, Northeast and Midlands in 2010.

Please note that whilst all clubs listed will be using these  clarifications, we have tried to get all clubs to also use the classes as listed but there are still a few clubs who have decided not to adopt them just yet, whilst others may add extra classes or amalgamate some of those shown in order to accommodate local practice. The structure is being adopted voluntarily so, whilst we have requested that all clubs/championships keep to the same class numbering system, we cannot compel them to do so. If you find a club or championship that is not using the new structure, why not suggest (strongly) to the organisers that it would be a good idea for them to adopt them?

We welcome feedback on your experiences during the year so that we can tell how successful the classes have been, and can consider any minor tweaks that may be required for 2011.

Last update was on the 30th November 2009

You can find the full details by clicking here

These changes mainly effect those competing in the Roadgoing classes, please read them carefully before preparing your car for 2010.

  • carmad 16th December 2009 at 8:57 pm

    Porsche 911 would be a sports car
    Caterham R500 superlight a kitcar, same for the Westfield.
    Basically any Lotus 7 /Caterham / Westfield type car is a kit car.

  • DaneGross 18th December 2009 at 12:42 pm

    I’d say the Caterham and Westfield were both specialised production cars, as there is a MSA category for that and we can assume less that a thousand were made of the ‘specific’ model for any given year. Plus there is no such category as “kitcar” !

    (Plus I’d been peeved if I had a £30k+ Caterham R500 and somebody called it a kitcar. Its made in a factory on a production line by a specialised company in limited numbers = specialised production car.)

    The vanilla VX220 2.2 and vanilla 1.8 Elise ARE both Road going production cars (more than 1000 a year made)

    The special versions such as Exige, 135, 160, 190, 111S, 340R, VX220 Turbo and VX220 VXR are Specialised Production cars because of the low numbers made.

    I really can’t see why there is an issue with
    the MSA categories. Within each category you can have as many classes as you like.

    A Porsche 911, MG TF, Honda S2000 are all production cars and should be in the road going production class.

    Anything produced in low numbers ( < 1000) should be in specialised. That is the specific make + model + variant.

    As that meerkat says… "Simpleys"

  • Shiftspark 18th December 2009 at 1:28 pm

    I cant see the point of allowing spherical bearings in top mounts only on struts that come with them as people will try and buy struts with these on, either they should be allowed if they are fixed and non adjustable or not allowed at all.
    My car has fixed solid top mounts with a bearing in them instead of rubber so I assume these will have to come off again?
    I guess I am not the only one fed up with the regs.

  • Post a comment

    Threaded commenting powered by interconnect/it code.

1 3 4 5